What is a Texas Graduated Driver License?
I just moved here to Texas. Can I get a Texas license with my unexpired license/learner's permit that I possess?
My Driver License has expired, how do I renew it?
What is needed for a Driver License Reinstatement?
What are the DPS fees for a learners permit/drivers license?
TEENS (14-17 yrs)
A hardship license (previously known as Minor Restricted Driver License or MRDL) may be issued to a minor who establishes the necessity to drive and may have restrictions based on the qualifying hardship.
An application for a hardship license (DL-77) must be executed by an authorized adult on behalf of the minor. Both the adult and the minor must sign the form and present it in person at the driver license office. Only a parent, guardian, or person having custody of a minor may make application on behalf of a minor. If the minor does not have a parent, guardian, or custodian then an employer or county judge may apply on behalf of the minor.
A person applying for a hardship license must:
- Be at least 15 years of age but not more than 18.
- Complete and pass a driver education course (a driver education course includes both the classroom and behind the wheel phase), vision, knowledge, and driving exams.
- Meet all other requirements for a first time driver license (original) applicant. For more information, please visit the DPS website.
DPS may require supporting documentation or conduct an investigation to confirm the information provided on the application.
DPS will issue a hardship license if it is determined that:
- Failure to issue the hardship license will result in an unusual economic hardship for the family of the minor applicant.
- The hardship license is necessary due to an illness, disability, or death of a family member.
- The hardship license is necessary because the minor applicant is enrolled in a vocational education program that requires a license for participation.
- A court order requiring issuance of the hardship license is presented.
To apply for a hardship license, bring all of the following to the DPS:
- All the paperwork and documents needed to meet regular licensing requirements.
- A parent or legal guardian.
- A completed DL 77 application (can be downloaded or picked up at any DPS office.
- Social Security Card
- Birth Certificate
- Third form of ID (high school ID, or military ID)
- Verification of Enrollment form (TEA form) from high school Valid for 30 days (90 days in summer)
- DL-14 from DPS office
- 2 forms of Proof of Residency
A student is eligible to receive a driver's license when two conditions have been met:
- they have held their permit for a minimum of six months from the date they receive it, and
- they are 16 years old.
The student's DE 964 must be picked up during office hours at the Arrive Alive of Texas Driving Academy's office. OR complete a third party road test with us. WE DO NOT MAIL THESE DOCUMENTS.
ALL individuals will take a driving test either with a Third Party Tester or at DPS and must pass in order to obtain a drivers license.
All adults are required by law to complete a MANDATORY 1 HOUR "Impact Texas Youth Drivers" (ITYD) class. All teens are required to complete a MANDATORY 2 HOUR (ITTD) class. This class can be found on our RESOURCES page. STUDENTS MUST NOT TAKE THIS CLASS MORE THAN 90 DAYS BEFORE THEY OBTAIN THEIR DRIVER LICENSE.
MY TEEN IS HOME SCHOOLS, HOW DO I GET THE VERIFICATION OF ENROLLMENT?
Adult drivers between the ages of 18 to 24 can take either the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation certified 32-hour classroom & 14 hour in-car instruction or the 6-hour adult course in order to obtain a drivers license. Adults 25 or older just need a learner's permit, however, driver education is highly recommended.
If you choose the 32-hour classroom & 14-hour in-car instruction, the written test will be given and if you pass, the results will be recorded on a DE 964 usually after the 3rd day in order for you to get your learner's permit. You would continue through the rest of the course until completion of both classroom & in-car. You also have requirement to log 30 hours of driving with someone who is 21 or over and possesses a driver's license. This course is highly recommended if you have no driving experience.
The Adult Exclusive is a 6-hour classroom course. At the end of the 6 hour instruction, you will take the written test and if you pass, the results will be recorded on a ADE 1317. After you receive your certificate, you can get your learner's permit or schedule for a road-test with DPS to test for your license. We offer full sessions that include 6 hour classroom and 8 hours in-car instruction. We also offer either classroom only or in-car only. The in-car lessons can be done after the individual obtains their permit. We also have additional lessons available if necessary.
All adults are required by law to complete the MANDATORY 1 HOUR "Impact Texas Young Drivers" (ITYD) class. This class can be found on our RESOURCES page. STUDENTS MUST NOT TAKE THIS CLASS MORE THAN 90 DAYS BEFORE THEY OBTAIN THEIR DRIVER LICENSE.
What is needed for a drivers license?